District 24 – Lim Chu Kang
Located in the northwestern part of Singapore, District 24 is occupied fully by Lim Chu Kang. This area is characterized by its abundant foliage, the few remaining farms in Singapore, a jetty, a forest reserve, numerous campsites and cemeteries.
Lim Chu Kang is a place renowned for its farms and cemeteries, with Singapore’s largest cemetery in the area. Founded in the early 1900s by Neo Tiew, a Chinese immigrant, Lim Chu Kang was formerly known as Ama Keng Village. After the founding of the village, Neo Tiew established Kay Wah School, now known as Qihua Primary. He also commissioned the construction of the Kay Wah Temple, which still exists today.
During the Second World War, the Japanese surprised the British by invading Singapore via the Causeway. Located near the Causeway, it is in Lim Chu Kang that several of the fiercest and bloodiest battles were fought, resulting in tens of thousands of deaths. As a result, there now exists a highly guarded military base in Lim Chu Kang. A plague can be found in this area giving an account of the history as well as commemorating the soldiers.
Go green in Lim Chu Kang as it is a place that boasts ecotourism. Here are some notable places to go when visiting Lim Chu Kang:
- Sungei Buloh Nature Reserve
- Lim Chu Kang Jetty
- Hay Dairies Farm
- Fire Flies Heath Farm
- Jurong Frog Farm
- Quan Fa Vegetable Farm
- Girl Guides’ Camp Site
- Boy Scouts’ Camp Site
- Singapore Army Camp Site
Lim Chu Kang has numerous cemeteries catering to the burial of people of different faiths including:
- Cemeteries of Christian, Muslim, Chinese, Bahai, Jewish, Ahmaddiya Jama’at, Parsi and Lawn Faiths.
There is a bus station at Lim Chu Kang for transportation convenience.
- 3 Bishan Place #02-01 CPF Bishan Building Singapore 579838
- +65 8777 1666
- +65 6253 0090
- [email protected]